California is raising its license fee by more than $2,000 a year, including the cost of a driver’s license, a measure aimed at deterring reckless drivers.
The state’s motor vehicle department said it will begin charging drivers $10 for a $100 license, up from $8.25.
The fees were approved by voters in November, but the law must be approved by the state Legislature and signed by Gov.
The new fee will also apply to the driver’s education program and the cost-of-living adjustment.
A previous version of the law, approved in 2006, raised the fee by about $500 a year to $13 a year.
The California Motor Vehicle Commission said drivers’ licenses cost about $4,000 and were available for purchase online, but it has yet to set the fee.
The DMV is reviewing the new law and expected to announce its final fee amount soon, spokeswoman Jen Rehm said in a statement.
More stories from California: