You can legally rent a boat, drive a motorbike or drive a car in California.
But, if you do, there’s a lot of legal gray area that makes it difficult for you to be licensed to drive a vehicle.
Here’s what you need to know about getting a boat license and the law around licenses.
What is a boat?
A boat is a vehicle that’s designed to be driven on water.
It typically has two wheels on the front and one on the back.
This means that the water is flat and the vehicle is not designed to roll on the water.
The water is typically deep, so the vehicle will roll in the water if it’s not submerged.
A boat’s hull can be as wide as 2.5 feet (80 centimeters).
Some boats have two-wheel drive, which makes it possible to drive on the side of the boat and roll over the water as you’re driving.
The California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) says a boat must have two wheels and at least one-quarter of its total length of watertight hull.
A “driveable” boat can’t be designed to flip over in the middle of the ocean.
In the past, some boats have been equipped with a steering wheel and paddle that would flip over when it’s in the ocean and roll in place if it got too close to the shore.
There’s a difference between being designed for water and for driving on land.
The DMV also states that a boat can be driven by a person who’s under the age of 18, and that the vehicle can’t exceed 12 feet (3 meters) in length.
If a person is 18 years or older, they can rent a motorhome in the state, but the rules are different for younger children.
A person can’t own a boat without a license.
But if the boat has been sold, the sale is valid for up to four years.
Can I drive on land?
Yes, but you have to meet certain conditions first.
You must be 18 years old, and the boat must be a “drive-able” type.
The regulations state that “driveability” means that you must be able to drive your boat without any other equipment and without any assistance, like a steering device or a hand-held vehicle.
You can’t drive a trailer on land, either.
Can a person rent a car?
The rules on renting cars are somewhat different.
In California, if a person rents a vehicle they have to first prove that they have a California driver’s license.
They also have to show proof that they’ve been issued a California driving permit and that they pass a California test before they can legally get a driver’s licence.
Renting a car requires that you take the test again within the next 30 days and pass a test.
If you don’t pass the test within that time, you’ll be issued a temporary license and have to take the next DMV test.
Rentals can be done on the premises of a business or apartment complex.
What if I’m not able to rent a vehicle?
You can still drive a vessel for commercial purposes, but only if you have a valid driver’s permit.
If your vehicle is used for fishing or fishing related activities, it must be registered with the California Department Of Fish and Wildlife.
You’ll need to register your boat with the state.
If it’s a recreational vehicle, it can’t carry more than six people.
How do I apply for a boat licence?
There are two types of licenses: a recreational license and a commercial license.
A recreational license is a temporary driver’s or boat operator’s license, issued for the purpose of transporting a person to and from a fishing, fishing-related or hunting activity, or as a temporary permit for an area.
You may not drive a commercial vehicle while the license is valid.
The license is not transferable.
A commercial license is issued for a commercial purpose.
For example, a commercial driver’s certificate or commercial vessel certificate would be acceptable.
You won’t need to pass a driver safety test to get a commercial boat license.
If the license expires, it’s no longer valid.
What happens if I don’t get a boat or a commercial motor vehicle license?
The California DMV says that if you don.t pass the required test within a 60-day period, you won’t be able access your license.
The next DMV inspection will be conducted in the same timeframe as the license was issued.
If, after 60 days, the DMV doesn’t find your boat or commercial motor car license in your possession, you can apply to have the license reinstated.
You should submit the renewal application to the California DMV within 90 days.
You will then have to wait a year for a renewal.
What about my old boat?
If you lost your boat while you were away on a fishing trip or fishing trip related to a business trip, you have three options